Day 2: Green for $green?

Day 2

Today is my second day. And I am doing alright on not smoking I have actually stopped smoking even before the first day I feel good and healthy now. I am re-using my plastic bags now and dumped most of them so they are all gone now in the recycling process. Whenever I realize that I have decreased my plastic use by 40 % in one day makes me happy. I get a large rush of dopamine in my brain every time I figure out I am contributing to the reduction of plastic production and plastic waste. I know I can minimize my plastic use even further and I am looking forward to that.

Now, when it comes to paper I am very shocked. It cannot be minimized the use of paper is too vast. Even after recycling all paper, I think people will want more. What is more shocking to me is Universities teach us about the misuse of papers and trees dying but they take no measures to go and tell the director or whoever is in charge to get rid of paper or at least use e-books or some kind of technology. Webster students have to pay a lot for the books and they are barely ever re used. Even the No Impact Man book uses paper the book lost its’ value to me when I realized that how can one talk so much about utilizing earth’s resources so much where as the person cut off hundreds of trees for his own books it does not make sense to me. But I am a business major and the more I am looking into this the more I am realizing it is all about money. I may be wrong but my observation about paper is not making me happy at all. And I am very unhappy with these people who talk about paper and wastes it themselves it makes me think they are behind making money their main motive is not to give people information on the eco-system I may be wrong but this is what I believe now.

I am doing the best in conserving water. I never used to waste water anyways. It is the simplest task among all the others mentioned above. All you have to do is switch the close the tap on time and do not let excess water flow it is that simple. People who are used to take long showers waste a lot of water they are advised to use a bath tub instead as it saves more and thanks to those who spend 10-15 minutes in the shower as they are saving a lot. Conserving water does not mean you drink less water drink more and more water as our bodies is filled with it. I am happy with my water consumption rate as I know I am not wasting much water. Let’s see how I function on the third day. I wish to do some research on the connection of saving resources with money as I think there is a lot of wrong people who are getting paid for the wrong reasons in the green industry.

-Anik

Leave a comment