Day 5: One Small Step is Just One Small Step

Today is the fifth day of the experiment and I am getting kind of bored and frustrated trying to do all this as this is something I have never done. And it is kind of time consuming to accomplish such tasks, especially with a busy life. I wish I could make a robot which would take care of all my duties to keep the world green.

I told myself that I won’t smoke and I am doing that pretty well I am not emitting carbon into the atmosphere anymore and I hope it goes on forever. When I did some calculations again I found out that I barely emit much carbon foot prints when compared to a lot others. I do not possess any car in Holland. I do not even use a bike when I need to travel. I take the train, but am I happy with this. No, I want all the good things in life.

I wonder how Colin managed to give up going for holidays and cancelled his wife’s too? And moved it into another date. And how he gave up travelling on planes or anything that emits carbon. I think his Mom is correct: one person’s action cannot cause any results when it comes to things like this.  It has to come from at least 10 % or more of the total population of a city for a start. These are realistic numbers. Now Colin uses a bike and that bike is used out of resources, which is metal. He lives in a house made of cement. He still uses a lot, which pollutes the environment still.  If it is tough for him, then people can imagine how tough it is for us.

The book is motivating but it is certainly never going come into practice there are much better alternatives, which I have found, but it will take a lot of time as well. I think I have wasted the least amount of waste in my entire life time in this week.  Even though it is not so much, but it is something.  But, again, I wonder what is the point in making a difference, which will not make any real difference?  We humans are incapable of such things and therefore we need technology.

Leave a comment